INDEPENDENT MERCHANT INTELLIGENCEPUBLIC BETA / SEPTEMBER 2026 BASELINE
Protocol intelligence / Transport

Model Context Protocol

A standard interface connecting applications to tools, resources and prompts.

Specification state: livePrimary evidence available
StewardMCP project contributors
Stack layerTransport
Version2026-07-28
Last evidence check28 September 2026
Merchant answer / Source-backed reference

A standard interface connecting applications to tools, resources and prompts. Provides a way for agent applications to access capabilities and context. Tool connectivity alone does not define checkout semantics or payment authorization. Individual merchant eligibility and deployed configuration require confirmation.

What this establishes
The documented role and version scope in the source ledger.

What it cannot establish
Live merchant deployment, private account eligibility, purchase completion or guaranteed AI selection.

Claim-to-source mapping
  • description: A standard interface connecting applications to tools, resources and prompts. · verified · Checked 2026-09-28 · Sources: mcp-spec

    Scope: Public documentation; not an authenticated merchant test

  • role: Provides a way for agent applications to access capabilities and context. · verified · Checked 2026-09-28 · Sources: mcp-spec

    Scope: Public documentation; not an authenticated merchant test

  • version: 2026-07-28 · verified · Checked 2026-09-28 · Sources: mcp-spec

    Scope: Public documentation; not an authenticated merchant test

  • version: 2026-07-28 · verified · Checked 2026-09-28 · Sources: v11-mcp-releases

    Scope: Official repository release

Evidence dates and document versions remain attached to the ledger below. Editorial presentation reviewed 30 September 2026; this is not a new source verification.

Version-aware protocol intelligence

Current version. Clear scope.

Current version2026-07-28
Current statusreleased
Published date2026-07-28
First observed / last verified2026-09-28 / 2026-09-28

GitHub release published_at; distinct from the date encoded in a version tag.

Scope: Official repository release · Layer: Transport · Steward: MCP project contributors

Merchant impact

Stable 2026-07-28 specification revision.

Check client/server version negotiation; tool transport is not a commerce integration.

Public implementation evidence: Public specification; commerce behavior depends on tools

Merchant action today: Document each tool permission.

Unknowns: Your enabled version, provider rollout, plan and region require merchant-side confirmation.

Source capture hashes

v11-mcp-releases: SHA-256 15e2f46e9f080658c5c25a4e4de6661abc9ab2d90ee56f568c9f6b9620fc0230

Previous versions

Retrospective source research, first observed by us in September 2026. This is a reviewed subset, not a claim of complete upstream release history.

2025-11-25 historical release

Published 2025-11-25 · First observed 2026-09-28

Stable 2025-11-25 specification revision.

Merchant impact: Check client/server version negotiation; tool transport is not a commerce integration.

GitHub release published_at; distinct from the date encoded in a version tag.

Version source ↗

2025-06-18 historical release

Published 2025-06-18 · First observed 2026-09-28

Dated 2025-06-18 specification revision.

Merchant impact: Check client/server version negotiation; tool transport is not a commerce integration.

GitHub release published_at; distinct from the date encoded in a version tag.

Version source ↗
Documented role

What it helps with

Provides a way for agent applications to access capabilities and context.

Keep the scope clear

What it does not solve

Tool connectivity alone does not define checkout semantics or payment authorization.

The merchant work

  1. Document each tool permission.
  2. Require confirmation for consequential actions.
  3. Choose compatible transport and auth implementation.

Individual merchant eligibility and deployed configuration require confirmation.

Version2026-07-28

verified · 2026-09-28

DiscoveryTools and resources; not a product feed standard

verified · 2026-09-28

CheckoutOnly when a commerce tool defines it

verified · 2026-09-28

PaymentNot a payment rail

verified · 2026-09-28

AuthorizationProtocol authorization is not purchase intent

verified · 2026-09-28

TransportMCP transports and messages

verified · 2026-09-28

AdoptionPublic specification; commerce behavior depends on tools

verified · 2026-09-28

Append-only history

What we observed, and when.

First house observation: 28 September 2026. Earlier dates, where known, are effective dates researched retrospectively.

Effective date

Evidence improved

2026-07-28; 3 scoped version record(s) now linked.

Before / previous scope

V1 record: 2026-07-28; no structured prior-version timeline.

Observed evidence

2026-07-28; 3 scoped version record(s) now linked.

Merchant impact: Check client/server version negotiation; tool transport is not a commerce integration.

First captured by us: 2026-09-28. Earlier effective dates are researched retrospectively.

Open the September baseline →
Evidence ledger

Go to the source.

Primary documentation records what is publicly stated. It does not independently prove outcomes or your account’s eligibility.

  • MCP specification 2026-07-28

    MCP project · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Tools, resources, prompts and transport

    Source ID: mcp-spec · Published: Not stated

  • Mcp Releases — V1.1 source capture

    MCP maintainers · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Version metadata and documented changes only; not merchant adoption.

    SHA-256 of retrieved source response: 15e2f46e9f080658c5c25a4e4de6661abc9ab2d90ee56f568c9f6b9620fc0230

    Source ID: v11-mcp-releases · Published: Not stated

Dispute a fact or suggest a source