INDEPENDENT MERCHANT INTELLIGENCEPUBLIC BETA / SEPTEMBER 2026 BASELINE
Protocol intelligence / Agent coordination

Agent2Agent Protocol

A standard for communication and task coordination between agents.

Specification state: livePrimary evidence available
StewardA2A project / Linux Foundation community
Stack layerAgent coordination
Version1.0.1 repository release / 1.0.0 specification banner — scope unresolved
Last evidence check28 September 2026
Merchant answer / Evidence review pending

A standard for communication and task coordination between agents. Defines agent capabilities, messages, tasks and cooperation. Does not itself supply a merchant catalog, checkout or payment settlement. Individual merchant eligibility and deployed configuration require confirmation. Map this role to your existing stack and confirm the exact version, access conditions and implementation scope before making a merchant decision.

What this establishes
The documented role and version scope in the source ledger.

What it cannot establish
An unresolved dependency remains. Treat affected claims as provisional. Live merchant deployment, private account eligibility, purchase completion or guaranteed AI selection.

Claim-to-source mapping
  • description: A standard for communication and task coordination between agents. · verified · Checked 2026-09-28 · Sources: a2a-spec

    Scope: Public documentation; not an authenticated merchant test

  • role: Defines agent capabilities, messages, tasks and cooperation. · verified · Checked 2026-09-28 · Sources: a2a-spec

    Scope: Public documentation; not an authenticated merchant test

  • version: 1.0.0 · verified · Checked 2026-09-28 · Sources: a2a-spec

    Scope: Public documentation; not an authenticated merchant test

  • version: 1.0.1 repository release / 1.0.0 specification banner — scope unresolved · conflict · Checked 2026-09-28 · Sources: v11-a2a-releases, v11-a2a-spec

    Scope: Official repository release

Evidence dates and document versions remain attached to the ledger below. Editorial presentation reviewed 30 September 2026; this is not a new source verification.

Version-aware protocol intelligence

Current version. Clear scope.

Current version1.0.1
Current statusreleased; source scope conflict
Published date2026-05-28
First observed / last verified2026-09-28 / 2026-09-28

GitHub release published_at; distinct from the date encoded in a version tag.

Scope: Official repository release · Layer: Agent coordination · Steward: A2A project / Linux Foundation community

Merchant impact

Repository patch includes HTTP media-type, transcoding and task-status corrections. The latest spec page still identifies 1.0.0.

Confirm the exact protocol schema and SDK alignment; agent coordination does not prove merchant adoption.

Unresolved source difference: repository v1.0.1; latest specification banner 1.0.0. These are retained separately, without silently choosing one scope for every implementation.

Public implementation evidence: Released spec; merchant integrations Unknown

Merchant action today: Publish accurate capabilities for your agent.

Unknowns: Your enabled version, provider rollout, plan and region require merchant-side confirmation.

Source capture hashes

v11-a2a-releases: SHA-256 2e1ba7bba863623bca20520c60644cb11dc020783b0d0a5eb89e0cc4aea474e3

v11-a2a-spec: SHA-256 4805254c10d8cbde59a82f6767598c37b051d7c3cdf9d5ce636dba287cd6ab2b

Previous versions

Retrospective source research, first observed by us in September 2026. This is a reviewed subset, not a claim of complete upstream release history.

1.0.0 historical release

Published 2026-03-12 · First observed 2026-09-28

1.0 protocol release includes breaking interface and naming changes.

Merchant impact: Confirm the exact protocol schema and SDK alignment; agent coordination does not prove merchant adoption.

GitHub release published_at; distinct from the date encoded in a version tag.

Version source ↗

0.3.0 historical release

Published 2025-07-30 · First observed 2026-09-28

0.3 release includes agent-card discovery and security changes.

Merchant impact: Confirm the exact protocol schema and SDK alignment; agent coordination does not prove merchant adoption.

GitHub release published_at; distinct from the date encoded in a version tag.

Version source ↗
Documented role

What it helps with

Defines agent capabilities, messages, tasks and cooperation.

Keep the scope clear

What it does not solve

Does not itself supply a merchant catalog, checkout or payment settlement.

The merchant work

  1. Publish accurate capabilities for your agent.
  2. Define task lifecycle and failure handoff.
  3. Separate coordination permissions from purchase authority.

Individual merchant eligibility and deployed configuration require confirmation.

Version1.0.1 repository release / 1.0.0 specification banner — scope unresolved

conflict · 2026-09-28

DiscoveryAgent cards and capabilities

verified · 2026-09-28

CheckoutApplication-level responsibility

verified · 2026-09-28

PaymentApplication-level responsibility

verified · 2026-09-28

AuthorizationSecurity schemes, not blanket purchase authorization

verified · 2026-09-28

TransportJSON-RPC, HTTP+JSON and gRPC bindings

verified · 2026-09-28

AdoptionReleased spec; merchant integrations Unknown

verified · 2026-09-28

Append-only history

What we observed, and when.

First house observation: 28 September 2026. Earlier dates, where known, are effective dates researched retrospectively.

Effective date

Conflict discovered

1.0.1 repository release / 1.0.0 specification banner — scope unresolved; 3 scoped version record(s) now linked.

Before / previous scope

V1 record: 1.0.0; no structured prior-version timeline.

Observed evidence

1.0.1 repository release / 1.0.0 specification banner — scope unresolved; 3 scoped version record(s) now linked.

Merchant impact: Confirm the exact protocol schema and SDK alignment; agent coordination does not prove merchant adoption.

First captured by us: 2026-09-28. Earlier effective dates are researched retrospectively.

Open the September baseline →
Evidence ledger

Go to the source.

Primary documentation records what is publicly stated. It does not independently prove outcomes or your account’s eligibility.

  • Agent2Agent specification

    A2A project · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Agent coordination

    Latest released version shown as 1.0.0. Agent card app version is a different field.

    Source ID: a2a-spec · Published: Not stated

  • A2A Releases — V1.1 source capture

    A2A maintainers · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Version metadata and documented changes only; not merchant adoption.

    SHA-256 of retrieved source response: 2e1ba7bba863623bca20520c60644cb11dc020783b0d0a5eb89e0cc4aea474e3

    Source ID: v11-a2a-releases · Published: Not stated

  • A2A Spec — V1.1 source capture

    A2A maintainers · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Version metadata and documented changes only; not merchant adoption.

    SHA-256 of retrieved source response: 4805254c10d8cbde59a82f6767598c37b051d7c3cdf9d5ce636dba287cd6ab2b

    Source ID: v11-a2a-spec · Published: Not stated

Dispute a fact or suggest a source