INDEPENDENT MERCHANT INTELLIGENCEPUBLIC BETA / SEPTEMBER 2026 BASELINE
Protocol intelligence / Commerce

Agentic Commerce Protocol

A commerce interaction standard connecting businesses, buyers and their agents.

Specification state: public-previewPrimary evidence available
StewardOpenAI / Stripe
Stack layerCommerce
Version2026-04-17 · repository identifies specification as beta
Last evidence check28 September 2026
Merchant answer / Source-backed reference

A commerce interaction standard connecting businesses, buyers and their agents. Defines commerce interactions; OpenAI also documents structured product feed ingestion. Does not guarantee ChatGPT placement or automatic merchant approval. Individual merchant eligibility and deployed configuration require confirmation. Map this role to your existing stack and confirm the exact version, access conditions and implementation scope before making a merchant decision.

What this establishes
The documented role and version scope in the source ledger.

What it cannot establish
Live merchant deployment, private account eligibility, purchase completion or guaranteed AI selection.

Claim-to-source mapping
  • description: A commerce interaction standard connecting businesses, buyers and their agents. · verified · Checked 2026-09-28 · Sources: acp-spec, openai-commerce, openai-start, openai-feed

    Scope: Public documentation; not an authenticated merchant test

  • role: Defines commerce interactions; OpenAI also documents structured product feed ingestion. · verified · Checked 2026-09-28 · Sources: acp-spec, openai-commerce, openai-start, openai-feed

    Scope: Public documentation; not an authenticated merchant test

  • version: 2026-04-17 (stable in repository) · verified · Checked 2026-09-28 · Sources: acp-spec, openai-commerce, openai-start, openai-feed

    Scope: Public documentation; not an authenticated merchant test

  • version: 2026-04-17 · repository identifies specification as beta · verified · Checked 2026-09-28 · Sources: v11-acp-changelog, v11-acp-readme

    Scope: Protocol specification

Evidence dates and document versions remain attached to the ledger below. Editorial presentation reviewed 30 September 2026; this is not a new source verification.

Version-aware protocol intelligence

Current version. Clear scope.

Current version2026-04-17
Current statusbeta specification
Published dateUnknown
First observed / last verified2026-09-28 / 2026-09-28

Publication timestamp not established; date-like version labels are not assumed to be publication timestamps.

Scope: Protocol specification · Layer: Commerce · Steward: OpenAI / Stripe

Merchant impact

Cart, feed, orders, authentication and MCP material collected in a dated specification.

Check the dated schemas and exact provider onboarding; published scope is not merchant enrollment.

Public implementation evidence: Public spec and partner access docs; store-level use not inferred

Merchant action today: Prepare reliable product identifiers, price, currency and availability.

Unknowns: Your enabled version, provider rollout, plan and region require merchant-side confirmation.

Source capture hashes

v11-acp-changelog: SHA-256 6b58fb81a436890ede612af94779b0b60a127d95aa0a44b8179d20bb605ca8ea

v11-acp-readme: SHA-256 a427ed74696286be7804bb3a4c5dc4c9461b4862da1ed461eeb3e723b03bca9a

Previous versions

Retrospective source research, first observed by us in September 2026. This is a reviewed subset, not a claim of complete upstream release history.

2026-01-30 historical release

Published Unknown · First observed 2026-09-28

Extensions, discounts and payment handlers.

Merchant impact: Review extension handling against your integration before changing version.

Publication timestamp not established; date-like version labels are not assumed to be publication timestamps.

Version source ↗

2026-01-16 historical release

Published Unknown · First observed 2026-09-28

Capability negotiation appears in the repository version map.

Merchant impact: Confirm both sides negotiate supported capabilities.

Publication timestamp not established; date-like version labels are not assumed to be publication timestamps.

Version source ↗

2025-12-12 historical release

Published Unknown · First observed 2026-09-28

Fulfillment enhancements in the repository version map.

Merchant impact: Older fulfillment structures require version-specific review.

Publication timestamp not established; date-like version labels are not assumed to be publication timestamps.

Version source ↗

2025-09-29 historical release

Published Unknown · First observed 2026-09-28

Initial dated ACP specification in the repository version map.

Merchant impact: Retain the version used by an older integration before planning migration.

Publication timestamp not established; date-like version labels are not assumed to be publication timestamps.

Version source ↗
Documented role

What it helps with

Defines commerce interactions; OpenAI also documents structured product feed ingestion.

Keep the scope clear

What it does not solve

Does not guarantee ChatGPT placement or automatic merchant approval.

The merchant work

  1. Prepare reliable product identifiers, price, currency and availability.
  2. Confirm your target integration and approval path.
  3. Pin the released schema before implementing checkout.

Individual merchant eligibility and deployed configuration require confirmation.

Version2026-04-17 · repository identifies specification as beta

verified · 2026-09-28

DiscoveryProduct feeds documented

verified · 2026-09-28

CheckoutSpecified; merchant deployment conditional

verified · 2026-09-28

PaymentHandler integration; not itself a payment network

verified · 2026-09-28

AuthorizationIntegration-specific; confirm chosen flow

verified · 2026-09-28

TransportHTTP APIs; released repository includes MCP work

verified · 2026-09-28

AdoptionPublic spec and partner access docs; store-level use not inferred

verified · 2026-09-28

RegionsUnknown

unknown after research · 2026-09-28

Append-only history

What we observed, and when.

First house observation: 28 September 2026. Earlier dates, where known, are effective dates researched retrospectively.

Capture date

Evidence improved

September 2026 evidence baseline opened

Before / previous scope

No house observation

Observed evidence

September 2026 evidence baseline opened

Merchant impact: Read every fact with its source, scope and checked date. This is the start of our observation history.

First captured by us: 2026-09-28. Earlier effective dates are researched retrospectively.

Capture date

Scope clarified

2026-04-17 · repository identifies specification as beta; 5 scoped version record(s) now linked.

Before / previous scope

V1 record: 2026-04-17 (stable in repository); no structured prior-version timeline.

Observed evidence

2026-04-17 · repository identifies specification as beta; 5 scoped version record(s) now linked.

Merchant impact: Check the dated schemas and exact provider onboarding; published scope is not merchant enrollment.

First captured by us: 2026-09-28. Earlier effective dates are researched retrospectively.

Open the September baseline →
Evidence ledger

Go to the source.

Primary documentation records what is publicly stated. It does not independently prove outcomes or your account’s eligibility.

  • ACP specification repository

    OpenAI / Stripe · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Specification version and scope

    Latest stable shown as 2026-04-17; development branch is not a release.

    Source ID: acp-spec · Published: Not stated

  • Agentic Commerce Protocol

    OpenAI · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Structured catalog and inventory ingestion for ChatGPT

    Source ID: openai-commerce · Published: Not stated

  • Get started with commerce

    OpenAI · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Product feed access

    Approved partners; file and API delivery. This is not evidence of universal checkout availability.

    Source ID: openai-start · Published: Not stated

  • File upload overview

    OpenAI · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Full snapshot feed delivery

    At least daily delivery recommended; not a scanner protocol endpoint.

    Source ID: openai-feed · Published: Not stated

  • Acp Changelog — V1.1 source capture

    OpenAI / Stripe · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Version metadata and documented changes only; not merchant adoption.

    SHA-256 of retrieved source response: 6b58fb81a436890ede612af94779b0b60a127d95aa0a44b8179d20bb605ca8ea

    Source ID: v11-acp-changelog · Published: Not stated

  • Acp Readme — V1.1 source capture

    OpenAI / Stripe · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Version metadata and documented changes only; not merchant adoption.

    SHA-256 of retrieved source response: a427ed74696286be7804bb3a4c5dc4c9461b4862da1ed461eeb3e723b03bca9a

    Source ID: v11-acp-readme · Published: Not stated

Dispute a fact or suggest a source