INDEPENDENT MERCHANT INTELLIGENCEPUBLIC BETA / SEPTEMBER 2026 BASELINE
Protocol intelligence / Identity & trust

Agent Payments Protocol

A protocol for expressing and verifying authority for agent-performed payments.

Specification state: public-previewPrimary evidence available
StewardAP2 contributors / FIDO standardization work
Stack layerIdentity & trust
Version0.2.0
Last evidence check28 September 2026
Merchant answer / Source-backed reference

A protocol for expressing and verifying authority for agent-performed payments. Uses linked checkout/payment mandates and receipts to bind authorization. Does not define the catalog API or replace a commerce protocol. Individual merchant eligibility and deployed configuration require confirmation. Map this role to your existing stack and confirm the exact version, access conditions and implementation scope before making a merchant decision.

What this establishes
The documented role and version scope in the source ledger.

What it cannot establish
Live merchant deployment, private account eligibility, purchase completion or guaranteed AI selection.

Claim-to-source mapping
  • description: A protocol for expressing and verifying authority for agent-performed payments. · verified · Checked 2026-09-28 · Sources: ap2-spec, ap2-home

    Scope: Public documentation; not an authenticated merchant test

  • role: Uses linked checkout/payment mandates and receipts to bind authorization. · verified · Checked 2026-09-28 · Sources: ap2-spec, ap2-home

    Scope: Public documentation; not an authenticated merchant test

  • version: v0.2 · verified · Checked 2026-09-28 · Sources: ap2-spec, ap2-home

    Scope: Public documentation; not an authenticated merchant test

  • version: 0.2.0 · verified · Checked 2026-09-28 · Sources: v11-ap2-releases

    Scope: Official repository release

Evidence dates and document versions remain attached to the ledger below. Editorial presentation reviewed 30 September 2026; this is not a new source verification.

Version-aware protocol intelligence

Current version. Clear scope.

Current version0.2.0
Current statusreleased
Published date2026-04-28
First observed / last verified2026-09-28 / 2026-09-28

GitHub release published_at; distinct from the date encoded in a version tag.

Scope: Official repository release · Layer: Identity & trust · Steward: AP2 contributors / FIDO standardization work

Merchant impact

Human Not Present payment flows are the focus of this release.

Review authority and mandate handling with your payment provider; this is not a live payment test.

Public implementation evidence: Public specification; individual deployments Unknown

Merchant action today: Assign verification responsibility for each role.

Unknowns: Your enabled version, provider rollout, plan and region require merchant-side confirmation.

Source capture hashes

v11-ap2-releases: SHA-256 43572d4defa8d53e8ab8dbfe90cc2d6734892aa93fcce009015d73cf21336ad6

Previous versions

Retrospective source research, first observed by us in September 2026. This is a reviewed subset, not a claim of complete upstream release history.

0.1.0 historical release

Published 2025-09-16 · First observed 2026-09-28

Initial AP2 release.

Merchant impact: Review authority and mandate handling with your payment provider; this is not a live payment test.

GitHub release published_at; distinct from the date encoded in a version tag.

Version source ↗
Documented role

What it helps with

Uses linked checkout/payment mandates and receipts to bind authorization.

Keep the scope clear

What it does not solve

Does not define the catalog API or replace a commerce protocol.

The merchant work

  1. Assign verification responsibility for each role.
  2. Keep deterministic mandate validation outside the model.
  3. Confirm provider support and dispute evidence handling.

Individual merchant eligibility and deployed configuration require confirmation.

Version0.2.0

verified · 2026-09-28

DiscoveryOutside scope

verified · 2026-09-28

CheckoutAuthorizes checkout; does not define commerce API

verified · 2026-09-28

PaymentMandates and receipts; not a settlement rail

verified · 2026-09-28

AuthorizationCore role

verified · 2026-09-28

TransportIntegration with commerce protocols

verified · 2026-09-28

AdoptionPublic specification; individual deployments Unknown

verified · 2026-09-28

Append-only history

What we observed, and when.

First house observation: 28 September 2026. Earlier dates, where known, are effective dates researched retrospectively.

Effective date

Evidence improved

0.2.0; 2 scoped version record(s) now linked.

Before / previous scope

V1 record: v0.2; no structured prior-version timeline.

Observed evidence

0.2.0; 2 scoped version record(s) now linked.

Merchant impact: Review authority and mandate handling with your payment provider; this is not a live payment test.

First captured by us: 2026-09-28. Earlier effective dates are researched retrospectively.

Open the September baseline →
Evidence ledger

Go to the source.

Primary documentation records what is publicly stated. It does not independently prove outcomes or your account’s eligibility.

  • Agentic Payment Protocol v0.2

    AP2 project · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Authorization mandates and receipts

    Payment authorization within a commerce protocol; catalog API details are out of scope.

    Source ID: ap2-spec · Published: Not stated

  • Agent Payments Protocol

    AP2 project · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Stewardship and integrations

    Site states continued standardization within FIDO working groups.

    Source ID: ap2-home · Published: Not stated

  • Ap2 Releases — V1.1 source capture

    AP2 maintainers · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Version metadata and documented changes only; not merchant adoption.

    SHA-256 of retrieved source response: 43572d4defa8d53e8ab8dbfe90cc2d6734892aa93fcce009015d73cf21336ad6

    Source ID: v11-ap2-releases · Published: Not stated

Dispute a fact or suggest a source