INDEPENDENT MERCHANT INTELLIGENCEPUBLIC BETA / SEPTEMBER 2026 BASELINE
Shopping surface intelligence / Commerce

Alexa for Shopping (formerly Rufus)

Amazon shopping assistance; Rufus renamed in May 2026.

Documented state: livePrimary evidence available
PublisherAmazon
Stack layerCommerce
First observedSeptember 2026
Last evidence check28 September 2026
Merchant answer / Source-backed reference

Amazon shopping assistance; Rufus renamed in May 2026. Product discovery includes Amazon catalog and eligible external merchant routes. Shop Direct referral and Buy for Me execution are different paths; this scanner uses neither. Individual merchant eligibility and deployed configuration require confirmation.

What this establishes
The documented role and version scope in the source ledger.

What it cannot establish
Live merchant deployment, private account eligibility, purchase completion or guaranteed AI selection.

Claim-to-source mapping
  • description: Amazon shopping assistance; Rufus renamed in May 2026. · verified · Checked 2026-09-28 · Sources: amazon-rename, amazon-feeds

    Scope: Public documentation; not an authenticated merchant test

  • role: Product discovery includes Amazon catalog and eligible external merchant routes. · verified · Checked 2026-09-28 · Sources: amazon-rename, amazon-feeds

    Scope: Public documentation; not an authenticated merchant test

Evidence dates and document versions remain attached to the ledger below. Editorial presentation reviewed 30 September 2026; this is not a new source verification.

Documented role

What it helps with

Product discovery includes Amazon catalog and eligible external merchant routes.

Keep the scope clear

What it does not solve

Shop Direct referral and Buy for Me execution are different paths; this scanner uses neither.

The merchant work

  1. Confirm your merchant and region eligibility.
  2. Check price, availability and product identity across data paths.
  3. Record the observed surface and date before comparing performance.

Merchant fit: Merchant discovery channel; not a replacement for your commerce stack.

Individual merchant eligibility and deployed configuration require confirmation.

OnboardingShop Direct feeds via named syndicators; confirm eligibility

conditional · 2026-09-28

DataPathAmazon catalog, public information and merchant feeds

verified · 2026-09-28

CheckoutAmazon purchase, merchant referral or eligible Buy for Me

verified · 2026-09-28

PaymentPath-dependent; not tested

verified · 2026-09-28

RegionsUS Shop Direct in cited source

conditional · 2026-09-28

AttributionUnknown

unknown after research · 2026-09-28

MerchantControlMerchant feed and external-store operations; platform controls presentation

verified · 2026-09-28

Append-only history

What we observed, and when.

First house observation: 28 September 2026. Earlier dates, where known, are effective dates researched retrospectively.

Effective date

Scope clarified

Amazon states Rufus was renamed Alexa for Shopping

Before / previous scope

Brief seed used the name Rufus

Observed evidence

Amazon states Rufus was renamed Alexa for Shopping

Merchant impact: Keep the historical route and earlier naming searchable while using the current official name.

First captured by us: 2026-09-28. Earlier effective dates are researched retrospectively.

Open the September baseline →
Evidence ledger

Go to the source.

Primary documentation records what is publicly stated. It does not independently prove outcomes or your account’s eligibility.

  • Shopping assistant update

    Amazon · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Alexa for Shopping, formerly Rufus

    Page explicitly records May 13, 2026 rename. Earlier marketing metrics not reused.

    Source ID: amazon-rename · Published: Not stated

  • Shop Direct external stores

    Amazon · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: External merchant product feeds

    Names Feedonomics, Salsify and CEDCommerce; Shop Direct and Buy for Me are different purchase paths.

    Source ID: amazon-feeds · Published: Not stated

Dispute a fact or suggest a source