INDEPENDENT MERCHANT INTELLIGENCEPUBLIC BETA / SEPTEMBER 2026 BASELINE
Protocol decision brief / No winner badges

ACP vs MCP

What does the tool mean in the context of commerce?

Merchant answer / Editorial synthesis

A tool interface can carry commerce capabilities but does not define an order or checkout by itself. ACP provides commerce-specific semantics; MCP provides general application/tool communication. Ask whether your target integration documents an ACP operation over a supported interface. A generic MCP server badge is not proof of merchant onboarding, checkout or payment capability.

What this establishes
A practical way to inspect evidence and make the next merchant decision.

What it cannot establish
Live merchant deployment, private account eligibility, purchase completion or guaranteed AI selection.

Evidence dates and document versions remain attached to the ledger below. Editorial presentation reviewed 30 September 2026; this is not a new source verification.

The overlap

A tool interface can carry commerce capabilities but does not define an order or checkout by itself. ACP provides commerce-specific semantics; MCP provides general application/tool communication.

The merchant decision

Ask whether your target integration documents an ACP operation over a supported interface. A generic MCP server badge is not proof of merchant onboarding, checkout or payment capability.

Layer-aware comparison / protocol

Where they overlap.
Where they complement.

Compare roles and implementation work. A shared capability does not make two systems interchangeable.

Decision dimensionACPMCP
LayerCommerceTransport
RoleDefines commerce interactions; OpenAI also documents structured product feed ingestion.Provides a way for agent applications to access capabilities and context.
Statusbeta specificationreleased
Version2026-04-17 · repository identifies specification as beta2026-07-28
DiscoveryProduct feeds documentedTools and resources; not a product feed standard
CheckoutSpecified; merchant deployment conditionalOnly when a commerce tool defines it
PaymentHandler integration; not itself a payment networkNot a payment rail
AuthorizationIntegration-specific; confirm chosen flowProtocol authorization is not purchase intent
TransportHTTP APIs; released repository includes MCP workMCP transports and messages
AdoptionPublic spec and partner access docs; store-level use not inferredPublic specification; commerce behavior depends on tools
What it does not solveDoes not guarantee ChatGPT placement or automatic merchant approval.Tool connectivity alone does not define checkout semantics or payment authorization.
Evidence6 source record(s)

Checked 2026-09-28

public-preview; scope-dependent

2 source record(s)

Checked 2026-09-28

live; scope-dependent

Unknown ≠ unsupported. Announcements and product documentation are not proof of your live integration.

Overlap and replacement risk

These entries occupy different layers. They can work together; replacing one with another may leave a commerce, communication or authorization gap. Keep your source of product truth, fulfillment responsibility and payment obligations explicit.

Evidence ledger

Go to the source.

Primary documentation records what is publicly stated. It does not independently prove outcomes or your account’s eligibility.

  • ACP specification repository

    OpenAI / Stripe · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Specification version and scope

    Latest stable shown as 2026-04-17; development branch is not a release.

    Source ID: acp-spec · Published: Not stated

  • Agentic Commerce Protocol

    OpenAI · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Structured catalog and inventory ingestion for ChatGPT

    Source ID: openai-commerce · Published: Not stated

  • Get started with commerce

    OpenAI · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Product feed access

    Approved partners; file and API delivery. This is not evidence of universal checkout availability.

    Source ID: openai-start · Published: Not stated

  • File upload overview

    OpenAI · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Full snapshot feed delivery

    At least daily delivery recommended; not a scanner protocol endpoint.

    Source ID: openai-feed · Published: Not stated

  • Acp Changelog — V1.1 source capture

    OpenAI / Stripe · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Version metadata and documented changes only; not merchant adoption.

    SHA-256 of retrieved source response: 6b58fb81a436890ede612af94779b0b60a127d95aa0a44b8179d20bb605ca8ea

    Source ID: v11-acp-changelog · Published: Not stated

  • Acp Readme — V1.1 source capture

    OpenAI / Stripe · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Version metadata and documented changes only; not merchant adoption.

    SHA-256 of retrieved source response: a427ed74696286be7804bb3a4c5dc4c9461b4862da1ed461eeb3e723b03bca9a

    Source ID: v11-acp-readme · Published: Not stated

  • MCP specification 2026-07-28

    MCP project · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Tools, resources, prompts and transport

    Source ID: mcp-spec · Published: Not stated

  • Mcp Releases — V1.1 source capture

    MCP maintainers · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Version metadata and documented changes only; not merchant adoption.

    SHA-256 of retrieved source response: 15e2f46e9f080658c5c25a4e4de6661abc9ab2d90ee56f568c9f6b9620fc0230

    Source ID: v11-mcp-releases · Published: Not stated

Dispute a fact or suggest a source