INDEPENDENT MERCHANT INTELLIGENCEPUBLIC BETA / SEPTEMBER 2026 BASELINE
Protocol decision brief / No winner badges

ACP vs AP2

Are you choosing commerce operations or an authorization model?

Merchant answer / Editorial synthesis

ACP provides commerce interaction specifications; AP2 addresses payment authority. Similar agentic-commerce vocabulary does not make one a replacement for the other. Confirm the chosen ACP integration’s supported payment and authorization route. Do not infer AP2 support unless the implementation’s official documentation establishes it.

What this establishes
A practical way to inspect evidence and make the next merchant decision.

What it cannot establish
Live merchant deployment, private account eligibility, purchase completion or guaranteed AI selection.

Evidence dates and document versions remain attached to the ledger below. Editorial presentation reviewed 30 September 2026; this is not a new source verification.

The overlap

ACP provides commerce interaction specifications; AP2 addresses payment authority. Similar agentic-commerce vocabulary does not make one a replacement for the other.

The merchant decision

Confirm the chosen ACP integration’s supported payment and authorization route. Do not infer AP2 support unless the implementation’s official documentation establishes it.

Layer-aware comparison / protocol

Where they overlap.
Where they complement.

Compare roles and implementation work. A shared capability does not make two systems interchangeable.

Decision dimensionACPAP2
LayerCommerceIdentity & trust
RoleDefines commerce interactions; OpenAI also documents structured product feed ingestion.Uses linked checkout/payment mandates and receipts to bind authorization.
Statusbeta specificationreleased
Version2026-04-17 · repository identifies specification as beta0.2.0
DiscoveryProduct feeds documentedOutside scope
CheckoutSpecified; merchant deployment conditionalAuthorizes checkout; does not define commerce API
PaymentHandler integration; not itself a payment networkMandates and receipts; not a settlement rail
AuthorizationIntegration-specific; confirm chosen flowCore role
TransportHTTP APIs; released repository includes MCP workIntegration with commerce protocols
AdoptionPublic spec and partner access docs; store-level use not inferredPublic specification; individual deployments Unknown
What it does not solveDoes not guarantee ChatGPT placement or automatic merchant approval.Does not define the catalog API or replace a commerce protocol.
Evidence6 source record(s)

Checked 2026-09-28

public-preview; scope-dependent

3 source record(s)

Checked 2026-09-28

public-preview; scope-dependent

Unknown ≠ unsupported. Announcements and product documentation are not proof of your live integration.

Overlap and replacement risk

These entries occupy different layers. They can work together; replacing one with another may leave a commerce, communication or authorization gap. Keep your source of product truth, fulfillment responsibility and payment obligations explicit.

Evidence ledger

Go to the source.

Primary documentation records what is publicly stated. It does not independently prove outcomes or your account’s eligibility.

  • ACP specification repository

    OpenAI / Stripe · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Specification version and scope

    Latest stable shown as 2026-04-17; development branch is not a release.

    Source ID: acp-spec · Published: Not stated

  • Agentic Commerce Protocol

    OpenAI · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Structured catalog and inventory ingestion for ChatGPT

    Source ID: openai-commerce · Published: Not stated

  • Get started with commerce

    OpenAI · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Product feed access

    Approved partners; file and API delivery. This is not evidence of universal checkout availability.

    Source ID: openai-start · Published: Not stated

  • File upload overview

    OpenAI · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Full snapshot feed delivery

    At least daily delivery recommended; not a scanner protocol endpoint.

    Source ID: openai-feed · Published: Not stated

  • Acp Changelog — V1.1 source capture

    OpenAI / Stripe · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Version metadata and documented changes only; not merchant adoption.

    SHA-256 of retrieved source response: 6b58fb81a436890ede612af94779b0b60a127d95aa0a44b8179d20bb605ca8ea

    Source ID: v11-acp-changelog · Published: Not stated

  • Acp Readme — V1.1 source capture

    OpenAI / Stripe · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Version metadata and documented changes only; not merchant adoption.

    SHA-256 of retrieved source response: a427ed74696286be7804bb3a4c5dc4c9461b4862da1ed461eeb3e723b03bca9a

    Source ID: v11-acp-readme · Published: Not stated

  • Agentic Payment Protocol v0.2

    AP2 project · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Authorization mandates and receipts

    Payment authorization within a commerce protocol; catalog API details are out of scope.

    Source ID: ap2-spec · Published: Not stated

  • Agent Payments Protocol

    AP2 project · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Stewardship and integrations

    Site states continued standardization within FIDO working groups.

    Source ID: ap2-home · Published: Not stated

  • Ap2 Releases — V1.1 source capture

    AP2 maintainers · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Version metadata and documented changes only; not merchant adoption.

    SHA-256 of retrieved source response: 43572d4defa8d53e8ab8dbfe90cc2d6734892aa93fcce009015d73cf21336ad6

    Source ID: v11-ap2-releases · Published: Not stated

Dispute a fact or suggest a source