INDEPENDENT MERCHANT INTELLIGENCEPUBLIC BETA / SEPTEMBER 2026 BASELINE
Shopping surface intelligence / Commerce

ChatGPT Shopping

Catalog-led product discovery in ChatGPT.

Documented state: livePrimary evidence available
PublisherOpenAI
Stack layerCommerce
First observedSeptember 2026
Last evidence check28 September 2026
Merchant answer / Source-backed reference

Catalog-led product discovery in ChatGPT. Structured catalog ingestion; product presentation depends on relevance and eligibility. Public catalog signals do not establish checkout eligibility. Individual merchant eligibility and deployed configuration require confirmation. Map this role to your existing stack and confirm the exact version, access conditions and implementation scope before making a merchant decision.

What this establishes
The documented role and version scope in the source ledger.

What it cannot establish
Live merchant deployment, private account eligibility, purchase completion or guaranteed AI selection.

Claim-to-source mapping
  • description: Catalog-led product discovery in ChatGPT. · verified · Checked 2026-09-28 · Sources: openai-commerce, openai-start

    Scope: Public documentation; not an authenticated merchant test

  • role: Structured catalog ingestion; product presentation depends on relevance and eligibility. · verified · Checked 2026-09-28 · Sources: openai-commerce, openai-start

    Scope: Public documentation; not an authenticated merchant test

Evidence dates and document versions remain attached to the ledger below. Editorial presentation reviewed 30 September 2026; this is not a new source verification.

Documented role

What it helps with

Structured catalog ingestion; product presentation depends on relevance and eligibility.

Keep the scope clear

What it does not solve

Public catalog signals do not establish checkout eligibility.

The merchant work

  1. Confirm your merchant and region eligibility.
  2. Check price, availability and product identity across data paths.
  3. Record the observed surface and date before comparing performance.

Merchant fit: Merchant discovery channel; not a replacement for your commerce stack.

Individual merchant eligibility and deployed configuration require confirmation.

OnboardingApproved product-feed partners; official application

conditional · 2026-09-28

DataPathFile upload / API feeds

verified · 2026-09-28

CheckoutUnknown for an individual merchant

verified · 2026-09-28

PaymentUnknown

unknown after research · 2026-09-28

RegionsUnknown

unknown after research · 2026-09-28

AttributionUnknown

unknown after research · 2026-09-28

MerchantControlFeed data; surface presentation is platform controlled

verified · 2026-09-28

Append-only history

What we observed, and when.

First house observation: 28 September 2026. Earlier dates, where known, are effective dates researched retrospectively.

First observed 28 September 2026. One baseline snapshot; no subsequent change is recorded.

Open the September baseline →
Evidence ledger

Go to the source.

Primary documentation records what is publicly stated. It does not independently prove outcomes or your account’s eligibility.

  • Agentic Commerce Protocol

    OpenAI · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Structured catalog and inventory ingestion for ChatGPT

    Source ID: openai-commerce · Published: Not stated

  • Get started with commerce

    OpenAI · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Product feed access

    Approved partners; file and API delivery. This is not evidence of universal checkout availability.

    Source ID: openai-start · Published: Not stated

Dispute a fact or suggest a source