INDEPENDENT MERCHANT INTELLIGENCEPUBLIC BETA / SEPTEMBER 2026 BASELINE
learn / Merchant field guide

Payments in the commerce stack

Compare funding, authorization and settlement as distinct capabilities.

Merchant answer / Editorial synthesis

A payment method, a payment processor, an authorization protocol and a commerce protocol can all participate in one purchase. AP2 describes authorization evidence within a commerce flow. MPP and x402 focus on machine-oriented payment interactions. These roles can overlap at integration boundaries without being interchangeable retail checkout systems.

What this establishes
A practical way to inspect evidence and make the next merchant decision.

What it cannot establish
Live merchant deployment, private account eligibility, purchase completion or guaranteed AI selection.

Evidence dates and document versions remain attached to the ledger below. Editorial presentation reviewed 30 September 2026; this is not a new source verification.

Do not collapse every payment acronym into one job

A payment method, a payment processor, an authorization protocol and a commerce protocol can all participate in one purchase. AP2 describes authorization evidence within a commerce flow. MPP and x402 focus on machine-oriented payment interactions. These roles can overlap at integration boundaries without being interchangeable retail checkout systems.

Ask scoped questions of a provider

Which payment methods and regions are supported for your merchant entity? Who validates authority? What evidence survives a retry or dispute? A partner logo or standards endorsement is insufficient to answer those questions. Treat provider statements as documentation of a product’s claimed scope until you have evidence for your configuration.

Keep this guide outside transaction execution

The platform offers architecture and evidence comparisons. It does not handle payment credentials, create transactions or provide merchant-specific legal eligibility advice. Any future paid product requires a separately approved payment and payout route.

Your next step

Evidence ledger

Go to the source.

Primary documentation records what is publicly stated. It does not independently prove outcomes or your account’s eligibility.

  • Agentic Payment Protocol v0.2

    AP2 project · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Authorization mandates and receipts

    Payment authorization within a commerce protocol; catalog API details are out of scope.

    Source ID: ap2-spec · Published: Not stated

  • Machine Payments Protocol

    MPP · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Agent payments for web services

    Open payment-method-extensible protocol; no retail-wide adoption inferred.

    Source ID: mpp-home · Published: Not stated

  • x402 repository

    x402 project · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: HTTP payment flow

    Repository says canonical development moved to x402 Foundation; Coinbase repo is a development fork.

    Source ID: x402-spec · Published: Not stated

  • EMV Agentic Payments – Framework for Specifications v1.0 DRAFT

    EMVCo · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Card-based agentic payment framework

    Draft, not a deployed payment rail or merchant certification.

    Source ID: emv-draft · Published: 2026-09-01

Dispute a fact or suggest a source