INDEPENDENT MERCHANT INTELLIGENCEPUBLIC BETA / SEPTEMBER 2026 BASELINE
Protocol decision brief / No winner badges

AP2 vs MPP

Do you need purchase authority, service payments, or both?

Merchant answer / Editorial synthesis

AP2 deals with authorization evidence within commerce. MPP deals with machine payment interactions for services. They are not equivalent retail checkout systems. If you need to prove a shopper authorized a purchase, investigate the mandate and verifier roles. If you are selling metered API access, examine payment methods, intents and service access instead.

What this establishes
A practical way to inspect evidence and make the next merchant decision.

What it cannot establish
Live merchant deployment, private account eligibility, purchase completion or guaranteed AI selection.

Evidence dates and document versions remain attached to the ledger below. Editorial presentation reviewed 30 September 2026; this is not a new source verification.

The overlap

AP2 deals with authorization evidence within commerce. MPP deals with machine payment interactions for services. They are not equivalent retail checkout systems.

The merchant decision

If you need to prove a shopper authorized a purchase, investigate the mandate and verifier roles. If you are selling metered API access, examine payment methods, intents and service access instead.

Layer-aware comparison / protocol

Where they overlap.
Where they complement.

Compare roles and implementation work. A shared capability does not make two systems interchangeable.

Decision dimensionAP2MPP
LayerIdentity & trustPayments
RoleUses linked checkout/payment mandates and receipts to bind authorization.Lets agents negotiate and pay for service access across supported payment methods.
Statusreleasedactive individual Internet-Draft
Version0.2.0draft-httpauth-payment-01 · normative core; broader SDK/method versions separate
DiscoveryOutside scopePayment offers for services
CheckoutAuthorizes checkout; does not define commerce APINot a retail checkout model
PaymentMandates and receipts; not a settlement railCore role: service access
AuthorizationCore rolePayment method and intent dependent
TransportIntegration with commerce protocolsHTTP-oriented; SDK integration
AdoptionPublic specification; individual deployments UnknownTeam documents service integrations; not independently transacted
What it does not solveDoes not define the catalog API or replace a commerce protocol.Does not supply retail catalogs, fulfillment or a complete store checkout.
Evidence3 source record(s)

Checked 2026-09-28

public-preview; scope-dependent

3 source record(s)

Checked 2026-09-28

draft; scope-dependent

Unknown ≠ unsupported. Announcements and product documentation are not proof of your live integration.

Overlap and replacement risk

These entries occupy different layers. They can work together; replacing one with another may leave a commerce, communication or authorization gap. Keep your source of product truth, fulfillment responsibility and payment obligations explicit.

Evidence ledger

Go to the source.

Primary documentation records what is publicly stated. It does not independently prove outcomes or your account’s eligibility.

  • Agentic Payment Protocol v0.2

    AP2 project · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Authorization mandates and receipts

    Payment authorization within a commerce protocol; catalog API details are out of scope.

    Source ID: ap2-spec · Published: Not stated

  • Agent Payments Protocol

    AP2 project · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Stewardship and integrations

    Site states continued standardization within FIDO working groups.

    Source ID: ap2-home · Published: Not stated

  • Ap2 Releases — V1.1 source capture

    AP2 maintainers · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Version metadata and documented changes only; not merchant adoption.

    SHA-256 of retrieved source response: 43572d4defa8d53e8ab8dbfe90cc2d6734892aa93fcce009015d73cf21336ad6

    Source ID: v11-ap2-releases · Published: Not stated

  • Machine Payments Protocol

    MPP · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Agent payments for web services

    Open payment-method-extensible protocol; no retail-wide adoption inferred.

    Source ID: mpp-home · Published: Not stated

  • EVM and x402 support

    MPP · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: SDK interoperability

    MPP team documents x402 exact flows in mppx.

    Source ID: mpp-x402 · Published: 2026-06-08

  • Mpp Ietf — V1.1 source capture

    MPP authors / IETF Datatracker · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Version metadata and documented changes only; not merchant adoption.

    SHA-256 of retrieved source response: fcb287fd83f5a74d9ebf5b06ade3849cbad9ca4581a88fc075554afc28956b69

    Source ID: v11-mpp-ietf · Published: Not stated

Dispute a fact or suggest a source