INDEPENDENT MERCHANT INTELLIGENCEPUBLIC BETA / SEPTEMBER 2026 BASELINE
Original research / Methodology first

Trust and payments: evidence gaps.

Separate published specifications from deployed authority and payment behavior.

Research draft / No market-wide findings

Research question

How should public evidence describe authority and payment readiness?

Proposed method

Map the published roles of AP2, MPP, x402 and the EMV draft framework. Record status and version separately from provider implementation. Treat authority, funding and settlement as separate dimensions.

What this cannot establish

No payment credentials, transaction attempts, private verification or compliance certification are part of this research. Public documentation cannot prove a merchant’s live payment behavior.

Publication gate — Research HOLD

Validate source scope, check unresolved conflicts, document the sample and review conclusions against the underlying observations. A finding may be published only at the level its evidence supports. Incomplete studies remain drafts, noindex and outside the production sitemap.

Evidence ledger

Go to the source.

Primary documentation records what is publicly stated. It does not independently prove outcomes or your account’s eligibility.

  • Agentic Payment Protocol v0.2

    AP2 project · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Authorization mandates and receipts

    Payment authorization within a commerce protocol; catalog API details are out of scope.

    Source ID: ap2-spec · Published: Not stated

  • Machine Payments Protocol

    MPP · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Agent payments for web services

    Open payment-method-extensible protocol; no retail-wide adoption inferred.

    Source ID: mpp-home · Published: Not stated

  • x402 repository

    x402 project · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: HTTP payment flow

    Repository says canonical development moved to x402 Foundation; Coinbase repo is a development fork.

    Source ID: x402-spec · Published: Not stated

  • EMV Agentic Payments – Framework for Specifications v1.0 DRAFT

    EMVCo · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Card-based agentic payment framework

    Draft, not a deployed payment rail or merchant certification.

    Source ID: emv-draft · Published: 2026-09-01

Dispute a fact or suggest a source