INDEPENDENT MERCHANT INTELLIGENCEPUBLIC BETA / SEPTEMBER 2026 BASELINE
Original research / Methodology first

Protocol adoption: what counts as evidence?

A public declaration, a vendor announcement and a completed merchant integration are different observations.

Research draft / No market-wide findings

Research question

What evidence is strong enough to count a deployment?

Proposed method

Separate a published specification, declared public profile, vendor integration documentation and independently observed use. Record protocol version, entity, scope, date and environment for every observation.

What this cannot establish

A public profile is a declaration, not a completed transaction. Named partnerships, endorsements and roadmap items cannot be counted as live merchant adoption.

Publication gate — Research HOLD

Validate source scope, check unresolved conflicts, document the sample and review conclusions against the underlying observations. A finding may be published only at the level its evidence supports. Incomplete studies remain drafts, noindex and outside the production sitemap.

Evidence ledger

Go to the source.

Primary documentation records what is publicly stated. It does not independently prove outcomes or your account’s eligibility.

  • UCP overview, 2026-08-25

    UCP · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Discovery profile and commerce capabilities

    Version-pinned profile discovery; declared capabilities do not prove successful transactions.

    Source ID: ucp-spec · Published: Not stated

  • Agent Connect announcement

    Mastercard · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Merchant/agent connections and payment credentials

    Begins in US; named partners exploring or expecting use are not verified live integrations.

    Source ID: mastercard-connect · Published: 2026-09-09

  • ACP specification repository

    OpenAI / Stripe · official primary · Checked 2026-09-28

    Claim scope: Specification version and scope

    Latest stable shown as 2026-04-17; development branch is not a release.

    Source ID: acp-spec · Published: Not stated

Dispute a fact or suggest a source